Bangladesh National Cricket Team

Bangladesh National Cricket Team

The Bangladesh National Cricket Team, also known as the Tigers, is the national cricket team of Bangladesh. It is governed by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and represents Bangladesh in international cricket matches.

The team has made significant strides in recent years, earning its Test status in 2000 and becoming a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2002.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team

The Bangladesh National Cricket Team has a talented and diverse lineup of players who have brought success to the team in all formats of the game. Mushfiqur Rahim, the team’s wicket-keeper, and captain lead the charge for the Tigers.

He is a right-handed batsman who has been a mainstay in the middle order for the team. Mahmudullah, the vice-captain, is an all-rounder who is known for his solid batting and effective off-spin bowling. He has been a key player for the team in both Tests and ODIs.

Bangladesh National Cricket Squad 2023
NameProfileBatting styleBowling styleDomestic teamForms of cricket
Mushfiqur RahimWicket-keeper and captainRight-handedRajshahi DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Mahmudullahvice-captainRight-handedRight arm off breakDhaka DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Imrul KayesOpening batsmenLeft-handedKhulna DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Tamim IqbalOpening batsmenLeft-handedRight arm off breakChittagong DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Shahriar NafeesOpening batsmenLeft-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxBarisal DivisionTest, ODI
Junaid SiddiqueOpening batsmenLeft-handedRight arm off breakRajshahi DivisionODI
NazimuddinOpening batsmenRight-handedRight arm mediumChittagong DivisionTest, ODI
Mohammad AshrafulMiddle-order batsmenRight-handedRight arm leg break/off breakDhaka MetropolisTest, ODI, T20I
Anamul HaqueMiddle-order batsmenRight-handedKhulna DivisionODI
Shuvagata HomMiddle-order batsmenRight-handedRight arm off breakDhaka DivisionODI
Jahurul IslamMiddle-order batsmenRight-handedRight arm off breakRajshahi DivisionODI
Khulna DivisionAll RoundersLeft-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxKhulna Division 
Dhaka DivisionAll RoundersRight-handedRight arm medium-fast/off break and leg break Test, ODI, T20
Rangpur DivisionAll RoundersRight-handedRight arm off break Test, ODI, T20
Sylhet DivisionAll RoundersRight-handedRight arm leg break ODI
Rajshahi DivisionAll RoundersRight-handedRight arm fast-medium ODI, T20I
Nazmul HossainPace bowlersRight-handedRight arm fast-mediumSylhet DivisionTest, ODI
Rubel HossainPace bowlersRight-handedRight arm fastChittagong DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Shahadat HossainPace bowlersRight-handedRight arm fastDhaka DivisionTest, ODI
Shafiul IslamPace bowlersRight-handedRight arm fast-mediumRajshahi DivisionODI, T20I
Abul HasanPace bowlersLeft-handedRight arm fast-mediumSylhet DivisionTest, ODI, T20I
Mashrafe MortazaPace bowlersRight-handedRight arm fast-mediumKhulna DivisionODI, T20I
Abdur RazzakSpin bowlersLeft-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxKhulna DivisionODI, T20I
Suhrawadi ShuvoSpin bowlersLeft-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxRangpur DivisionTest, ODI
Sohag GaziSpin bowlersRight-handedRight arm off breakBarisal DivisionTest, ODI
Elias SunnySpin bowlersLeft-handedSlow left-arm orthodoxDhaka MetropolisTest, ODI, T20
Bangladesh National Cricket Team

Bangladesh National Cricket Team Information

The opening pair of Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes is another strength of the Bangladesh National Cricket squad. Tamim Iqbal is a left-handed batsman who is known for his explosive stroke play and ability to score runs quickly.

Imrul Kayes is also a left-handed batsman who has been a consistent performer for the team. Shahriar Nafees, another left-handed opening batsman, adds depth to the team’s batting lineup.

The middle order of the Bangladesh National Cricket squad is led by Mohammad Ashraful, who is a right-handed batsman known for his attacking stroke play. Anamul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, and Jahurul Islam are other talented middle-order batsmen who have contributed to the team’s success.

The Bangladesh National Team also has a strong bowling attack, with a mix of pace and spin bowlers. Rubel Hossain and Mashrafe Mortaza are the team’s premier pace bowlers, with the former known for his ability to swing the ball and the latter for his accuracy and control.

Nazmul Hossain, Abul Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, and Shafiul Islam are other pace bowlers who have played important roles for the team.

In the spin department, Abdur Razzak, Elias Sunny, and Suhrawadi Shuvo are the team’s left-arm orthodox spin bowlers, while Sohag Gazi is a right-arm off-spinner. All of these bowlers have been effective for the team in different situations.

The Bangladesh National Team has competed in all three formats of the game – Tests, One Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is). The team’s greatest moment in Test cricket came in 2017 when it defeated Australia by 20 runs in a historic win at home.

The team has also had notable wins against top-ranked teams such as India, South Africa, and Pakistan in ODI and T20I cricket.

The Bangladesh Cricket Team has a strong domestic cricket structure, with six divisions that compete in the National Cricket League (NCL) and the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL).

These tournaments provide a platform for young and upcoming players to showcase their talent and earn a place on the national team.

Bangladesh National Cricket Squad


In conclusion, the Bangladesh National Cricket Team is a rising force in international with a talented lineup of players and a strong domestic cricket structure. The team has made significant progress in recent years and will be looking to continue its success in the future.

With players like Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, and Mahmudullah leading the way, the Bangladesh National Cricket Team is poised to achieve greater heights in the years to come.

What forms of cricket does the Bangladesh National Cricket Squad play?

The Bangladesh National Cricket Team plays Test, ODI, and T20I cricket.

Who is the captain of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team?

The current captain of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team is Mushfiqur Rahim.

Who is the vice-captain of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team?

The current vice-captain of the Bangladesh National Cricket Team is Mahmudullah.