Scotland 15-Man Squad Announced for World Cup Qualifiers: A Blend of Experience and Youth

Scotland 15-Man Squad Announced for World Cup Qualifiers A Blend of Experience and Youth

Cricket Scotland has unveiled the 15-man squad for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers, featuring a combination of seasoned campaigners and promising young talents. The squad announcement was made today (Wednesday) with the return of Alasdair Evans and Adrian Nail. Scotland will lock horns with nine other teams in a bid to secure a spot in the main stage of the World Cup.

In this qualifying round, two teams out of the 10 competing nations will advance to the coveted main round of the Cup. Apart from Scotland, Oman and Nepal are also part of the League-2 teams. Head coach Doug Watson expressed his thoughts after revealing the squad.

He remarked, “I believe our team possesses a fantastic balance of experienced campaigners like George and Ritchie, along with young talents such as Jarvis and McBride. The upcoming campaign in Zimbabwe presents us with tremendous opportunities. Every player in the squad is eager to deliver standout performances and they have the resilience to overcome any challenge that comes their way.”

With a blend of youth and experience, Scotland‘s squad is poised to embark on a fierce battle to secure their place in the World Cup. The team is well aware of the obstacles they will face, but their determination and skillset make them a formidable contender in the qualifiers. As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the action to unfold, all eyes will be on Scotland as they aim to make their mark on the road to the World Cup.

Scotland Full Squad

  1. Richie Berrington (captain)
  2. Matthew Cross
  3. Alasdair Evans
  4. Chris Greaves
  5. Jack Jarvis
  6. Michael Leask
  7. Tom Mackintosh
  8. Chris McBride
  9. Brandon McMullen
  10. George Munsey
  11. Adrian Neill
  12. Safyaan Sharif
  13. Chris Sole
  14. Hamza Tahir
  15. Mark Watt

ICC Cricket World Cup Super League – Bottom Five

  • West Indies
  • Sri Lanka
  • Ireland
  • Zimbabwe
  • Netherlands

ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 – Top Three

  • Scotland
  • Oman
  • Nepal

Qualifier Playoff – Top Two

  • United States
  • United Arab Emirates

The top two teams will move forward to the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, which takes place in India between October 5 and November 19, 2023.